Double Standard

Seems Obama has done such a crappy job to date that he is actually having to attempt to keep his campaign promises. In this (one single isolated case) I have to agree with him. His (poor) state of (dis)union address brought up a subject I have been meaning to comment on for a while, Don’t ask don’t tell. This stupid policy is almost as unfair and unAmerican as “separate but equal”.

Back in the day when I was younger, dumber and ….. well you get the idea; I was fairly homophobic. When I was a young grunt in the Army I was totally against gays in the military. Now that I am a few (ha ha) years older and hopefully a little wiser I realize how stupid I was on this particular topic. There are a few gay folks around my PD and there is not one that I would not want backing me up on a dangerous call. Most of them are (ta da) veterans. I believe it is completely hypocritical of anyone to say they support America and the Constitution and then try to deny gays their rights. How can anyone not want to be on the side of someone who knows they are going to be discriminated against, but still wants to serve their country.

What really chaps my ass ( no pun intended) is the fact that the .gov is the only one allowed to discriminate. Let a private company try to fire someone for being gay and you are subject to all sorts of sanctions and lawsuits, but the .gov shows once again they are above the law. There is a police dept in my neck of the woods that is attempting to institute a mandatory, military type, physical fitness test. However, unlike the military, they are not allowed to take age into effect on the requirements to pass. The .gov says this is age discrimination. This is the same .gov that allows for a reduction in performance standards in military fitness test based on your increasing age.

Don’t ask don’t tell also seems to me to be a violation of the separation of church and state, as it is mostly religious types who oppose gay rights. I realize that your particular religion may oppose homosexuality, but the same Constitution that protects your freedom of religion protects gays from discrimination. The 14th Amendment is fairly clear.

I agree with Robb over at Sharp as a Marble that being homosexual is not for me, but that does not mean I won’t defend your right to love who you want.

I also agree with Jennifer’s Head on two points. The first is that the .gov needs to stay out of peoples bedrooms. SCOTUS has already ruled that laws against homosexuality are illegal, yet it allows the military to discriminate on that very basis. My own State of Texas still keeps homosexuality in the Penal Code as a class C misdemeanor in spite of the law being illegal. The second is that homosexuality is not a conservative issue, it is a personal issue and therefore not open to legislation.

Leave a Reply

