Teh Stupid

I went to the range on Saturday after taking our other dog to the vet for his annual shots. We are now into the vet for $300. Every time I start to think about buying a new bang stick something like this comes up. However, after what I did on Saturday I might ought to sell the ones I have instead.

It was pretty windy when I got to the range, but I figured that with the wind being at my back I could at least verify that the scope on my Mini14 was still zeroed. It wasn’t, but I got it pretty close at the 25 yard rang. I then moved over to the 50 yard range thinking that even though it was probably to windy to shoot at 100 yards, I would at least feel that I had a good zero. This is where things got stupid. Every time I thought I had it where I wanted it, my next group would be all over the place. So I decided that the scope that was on it had crapped out and went home and installed the only extra scope that I had, a Tasco Pronghorn. I went back out to the 25 yard range to get it on paper and moved over the the 50 yard range. Same thing again. By this time it was getting late in the day and I was having visions of trading this POS rifle to someone and getting a Sig556 with a folding stock. Being to stupid to figure out what was going on I moved back over to the 25 yard range. I shot tight groups that landed right in the center of the target. It was getting late, so I decided to call it a day and try again on Sunday. At this point I was already trying to decide where to sell the rifle. I started gathering up all of my junk and went back to the 50 yard range to get my targets. As I approached the target board I realized that the entire thing moved just a little with every gust of wind. It was not enough that I noticed it through the scope, but was enough to throw my shots around. So, my Mini14 will be wearing a Tasco Pronghorn until I can get back out to the range on a CALM day. I could have saved myself some headache if I was a little more observant. That is just kind of the way things go some days. I solaced my stupidity that evening by killing a few more brain cells with a couple of good stiff drinks.

One Response to Teh Stupid

  1. […] shortbus1836 wrote an interesting post today onTeh bStupid/bHere’s a quick excerptThis is where things got bstupid/b. Every time I thought I had it where I wanted it, my next group would be all over the place. So I decided that the scope that was on it had crapped out and went home and installed the only extra scope b…/b […]

Leave a Reply

